top of page

The idea by Heather

Hi my name is Heather Moore! Welcome to Lilly’s Luxuries! I started my search for alternative beauty products in March of 2016. I guess you could say, I had never really thought about the chemicals and toxins I was introducing to my body via the soap, facial cleansers, lotions, deodorants, etc. and what they were doing to my skin and health, until I began to research what exactly is in our staple beauty products. I have struggled for years with blotchy, red skin due to Rosacea. I have tried the expensive beauty products and I have tried the cheap beauty products claiming to be hypo-allergic and to a point they are but they still contained toxic ridden ingredients that may skin and body were not receptive too.

My first change was switching from a traditional bar soap to goat milk soap. Traditional bar soap had begun to take its toll on my skin. My skin never felt moisturized and I was ashy! I thought that because I used a soap that marketed itself as a Moisture Beauty Bar that I was really doing something healthy for my skin but it appeared to be a different story. So, I began to research… and research and reasearch some more… For Christmas last year, my husband received a gift of all-natural soap for men. My husband would make comments about how great the soap was and I became curious, so I tried it! Yeah, he busted me trying it but oh well! This experience intrigued my curiosity, and I thought “how hard would it be to make my own soap”? And that point I researched the most beneficial ingredients for all natural skin care and that led me to goat’s milk!

The thought of using milk from a goat to scrub my body at first was not real appeasing to me honestly, but I gave it a try and I’m sure glad I did! The transition from using commercial brand soaps to goat milk soap was a different experience. We all love to soap up in tons of suds and feel so fresh and so clean! When I completed my first batch of soap and it was time to use it, I was so excited! I was thinking ok, I’m going to lather up, rinse, then feel and see immediate results from this luxurious soap, NOT! It was really the opposite! I would say it was after 4-5 times using goat’s milk soap until I remembered thinking to myself this isn’t working or I didn’t do something right?? No the problem wasn’t the soap or how I made it was my body readjusting itself, kind of like a detox period or like changing your shampoo, it takes a bit of an adjustment period. No, goat milk soap is not a bubbly soap, it actually has very delicate, soft bubbles and you will not experience the “lathered up” feeling you do with commercial soaps. After, my so called “adjustment period”, my skin began to feel wonderful and the blotching on my faced ceased. The soap was so moisturizing to my skin that I didn’t even have to use a moisturizing lotion!

However, I do realize that all results are not the same and that some people are not concerned with the chemicals or toxins that are absorbed into their skin from one’s environment but I am and you honestly should be too! I hope stay tuned for future blogs! I will be utilizing my blog for DYI tips and to provide you the cusotmer with Luxurious natural products. Until next time, Have a Luxurious kind of day!

bottom of page